I am.

I have recently come to the realization that I have been waiting.  Waiting on a better job.  Waiting on my life to take shape.  Waiting for my hair to grow out.  Waiting for my boyfriend to propose.   Hell.  I have been in the restaurant business for far too long… all of this is getting old.

I just moved to Washington from my beloved city of Portland.  Mind you, I never really enjoyed the finer things Portland had to offer during the five or so years I lived there.  Now that I am paying sales tax, I have started to really appreciate the things I miss.

I miss hippies.  Honest-to-goodness, dreadlock adorned, patchouli stinking, drum playing, weed smoking hippies.  I miss trying not to breathe in their cloud of funk as I walked past.  I miss them shouting at my little brother and his full-size truck downtown.  I miss the proliferation of hemp everywhere you look.

I miss my grocery store, with the little checkout girl who must have thought I had a drinking problem, but she remembered me anyway.  Speaking of drinking problem, I miss having restaurants with more on tap than Bud and Bud Light.  Eck. I miss my friendly banker guy who used to flirt with me until he came into my restaurant with his significant other… that was weird.  I miss my favorite coffee guy.  I’d bring him fortune cookies and he’d make me cheaper drinks.

I miss my friendly bum.  The one with the dog.   Awkward as it was, conversations with him at stoplights always brightened my day.  I almost even miss Tan Bum.  The one who didn’t even bother to hold up a sign… it always amazed me how lazy he was.

I miss my friends.  I miss knowing I have at least five people to call up for happy hour at any given time.  I miss happy hour.  I miss fresh fruit margaritas and laughing about stupid people.

I miss independence. When I moved to Washington, I moved solely for the benefit of my parents, who are attempting to keep a struggling start-up business alive.   Little did I realize how suffocating that would be.  It’s like high school all over again, except this time I have bills and a mild drinking problem.

However, in the spirit of optimism:  the next post will be the things I appreciate about the new locale (and hell, the things I hated about the old one).

Also, if anyone actually happens to read this, be patient with me.  I’m dipping my toe-toes in the blogging pool…. I have yet to learn how to swim.

One Response to “I am.”

  1. lachamuca Says:

    Yay! You started a blog!

Leave a Reply

